Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts with the label facebook privacy

Beware! Facebook Apps can now Access Your Phone and Address Details

 Facebook has the knack to piss off users, specially those privacy freaks. We have previously warned you about keeping an eye on what permissions you are giving to the Facebook apps you are installing. Now, you have even more reasons to get paranoid, as Facebook has announced that it now lets developers access your phone number and home address, if they choose, when you use their apps. To be fair on Facebook, it is only making this data available to the apps if you, the user, specifically approve it. Moreover all those apps you have already installed won’t have automatic access to these information. So, next time you install a Facebook app, look out for the “Access my contact information: Current Address and Mobile Phone Number” permission request Facebook’s obnoxiously huge valuation is because of the data – the personal data of millions of users, all fed manually by the users themselves. And there is a huge demand for this data out in the market. If some app developer is greedy ...

How to Download Personal Facebook Profile Information To Computer

Being an active user in Facebook for years, probably you have posted many messages, photos, videos and other information to this social site. You probably want to save or backup a copy of all your profile information from Facebook into your computer for whatsoever reason. Facebook has made things simpler for its users by adding in a new feature, Download Your Information, to allow users to download everything from their own profile, e.g. posted photo and videos, friend lists, messages, status update, events, wall posts, etc. To download information from your Facebook profile, users just need to click on to “Account” which is located on the top right corner of their Facebook main page. Once users go in to their My Account setting page, users just need to click on to the “Download Your Information” button to download their personal information available in their account to the machine. For security reasons, users at this juncture need to make request and get consent from Facebook befor...

How to remove a Facebook photo tag

To remove the tag from a photo that someone else has uploaded and tagged you in, simply view the photo, and then choose "remove tag" at the bottom next to your name. The photo will no longer be linked to your profile. Please note that if you tag a user in a photo that you did not upload, you cannot remove or edit the tag. Only the owner of the photo and the tagged user will be able to do so. Please note that you can set your notifications so that you always know when someone tags you or one of your photos. You can control this setting from the "Notifications" tab on the Account Settings page.

Facebook Friendship Pages – Telling the Story of Friendships

 Facebook is launching a new feature called Friendship Page – which is like a document all of your interactions on the network with particular friends on designated pages. The Friendship Page will display public Wall posts and comments between two friends, photos in which both are tagged, Events they RSVP’d for together and other information. As much as I am paranoid about privacy on Facebook, this is a welcome feature really. You’ll be able to see Friendship pages between yourself and a friend, or between any two other people in which you have permission to view both peoples’ profiles. After all, Facebook was is meant to connect, build and cherish relationships! I am sure some of you will still find a reason or two to curse Facebook, but this feature is a wonderful example on how user activity data can be used to tell a story by cross referencing and proper data analysis. Friendship Pages will probably be rolled out throughout the day, not all users are able to see...